WriteNow

For Aspiring Writers

Guest Post: Kim Lee: My Writing Journey


I approached Kim Lee less than a fortnight ago to ask if she could write a guest post for WriteNow. I had only been following her for a few days, but her passion for writing seeped through every word and her maturity and confidence to writing was amazing. Visit her blog here. And without further ado, I present to you Kim Lee’s journey as a writer through her own words:

Kim Lee

As a kid in elementary school, I had all kinds of dreams. I wrote, often, but I didn’t think of it as a career. I wanted to be a pilot, a chef, an architect. For a while, I even dreamed of being a basketball player. By the time I entered high school, I had other thoughts. I still wanted to be an architect, and I had definitely developed skills with computers and the Internet. But I wanted to be a counselor, or a psychiatrist. At that point, what I wanted to be was no longer clear to me. I silently wondered if that was normal. It seemed nearly everyone I knew was sure that they wanted to be this and would be studying that. But I couldn’t decide. Puzzled and perplexed, I picked up an empty notebook …and began to write.

It was a little hard at first. My wrist ached and my palms were sweaty. But I wrote anyway. When I was finished, I went back to the beginning. “There’s a city over yonder, where I someday want to go…” it began. Of course, I referred to heaven, and although the poem had nothing to do with the cause of my stress, somehow it made me feel a whole lot better. Turning to another page, I wrote again. And again. Writing felt so good, and my pieces weren’t playthings either. I was only 14, but that day it came to me: I wanted to be a writer.

I knew writers didn’t generally make a lot of money, and so for a while, I said little about my realization. But I didn’t stop writing. I wrote poetry like mad to quell the storm within. The next year, I began writing a book on the life of one of my favorite heroes. Soon, I was writing short stories, articles, and just about anything. My leisure was built around words, and my favorite subjects in school were those that lent themselves to writing essays and descriptions. A fountain had opened inside me, one that no one could stop. I was determined to be a writer.

One of my early frustrations with writing was the problem of getting readers. Family members were kind enough, but I wanted more. I needed to get out there, I thought. So a couple of months before my 15thbirthday, I started a blog. I felt exhilarated—until I realized how much work blogging can be. I was clueless about getting followers or even how to blog effectively, but I was determined. And that’s what made the difference. I soon learned to use my blog as a portfolio of sorts. To be a writer, you have to write and show what you’ve written—or so I told myself. And that’s exactly what I did.

Blogging became a part of my life. It was my way of getting readers without having to get everything I wrote published. When I did publish my first book in 2011, I was so happy. Finally, I was no longer only a writer; I was an author as well. Shortly after, I produced my first ebook, a much cheaper, faster way to publish. None of my friends were surprised—I had been a scribbler and a bookworm from childhood—they knew I was happiest when dealing with pencil and paper.

They were right. I am a writer by nature. What I can’t say with my tongue, I say with my fingers. It is my way to express, to learn, and to teach. I’ve been writing all my life, but it’s been almost four years since I first heard the voice saying, “write, child, write!” That’s who I am, and who I will always be: A writer.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Guest Post: Kim Lee: My Writing Journey

  1. Wonderful, relatable words! I remember being one of the few students excited about essay tests in school. Writing is the most incredible way to communicate thoughts and feelings. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • All credit to Kim Lee – I was absolutely delighted when reading this, and am so glad you enjoyed it as much as I and look forward to her next guest post next week on creating characters 🙂 Thank you for your comment

    • Ah, great to know another essay lover. And I so agree; it’s hard to picture communication without writing. It’s the best! Thanks for the kind words, and many thanks to JLT as well for asking me to write. =)

  2. Whitney Rains on said:

    Great post! Kim’s story is inspirational and so relatable.

Leave a Reply

