WriteNow

For Aspiring Writers

An Interview with an Aspiring Writer #1


It’s always a pleasure to meet other aspiring writers. It’s been a pleasure to have come in contact with WL Rains, whose blog you can read here. Her blog follows her journey as a writer, her thoughts and musings of her experience an abundance of friendliness and advice to be taken.

WL Rains, thanks for agreeing for an interview! Okay, let’s start. We’re all guilty of this one, in one way or another. What was your beginning writers mistake? How did you learn from it?
WL: One of the biggest mistakes I made when first starting out was assuming I could get a novel out quickly and immediately get published. I sent out query letters and was actually surprised to get turned down. It discouraged me from writing and I didn’t start writing again for years. I didn’t learn to the business I wanted to be in or what it really takes to be a writer. If you want to be successful, you have to know everything you can about writing and the literary world.

Moving away from the past, lets look at your future. As a writer, where do you hope to be, in say, five years?
WL: I would love to have the novel I’m working on published. I think that is my ultimate goal. I would also like to write full time as well. I want my whole focus to be on writing.

What is your biggest source of procrastination?
WL: My biggest source of procrastination currently is graduate school. I always have reading to do or a paper to write and its so easy to get bogged down and not work on my novel. When I’m stressed out (as I am now because of finals), I just want to do nothing. My brain is always on overload so my own writing usually gets pushed to the end of the to-do pile.

Any writing quirks/habits/routines?
WL: I like to write in the dark. It’s sounds weird, but my new computer has a backlight under the keyboard and it makes it really easy to write in the dark. I find it to be more relaxing too. If I’m in serious writing mode I usually grab tea or coffee and cookies, then I jump in. I really wish I had a daily writing routine, but the closest thing to that is writing when none of my roommates are home or just before bed.

If you are what you write, then what are you?
WL: Oh gees, this is hard. I think the best way to describe it is a Katniss Everdeen.

What’s been the most helpful piece of writing advice you’ve heard?
WL: Just write and write and write, then revise, revise, revise.

What’s the name of your current story? How would you sum it up in one sentence?
WL: I don’t have a name, I really wish I did. I would sum it up like this: If your entire world fell apart would you fight or flee, the answer is fight, to always fight.

If you could meet any author, living or dead, and ask them a question, who would it be and what would you ask?
WL: I would have to meet J.K. Rowling. I would want to ask her how she created the world of Harry Potter. How she created something so complex, yet could keep track of it all.

Again, thank you very, very much.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “An Interview with an Aspiring Writer #1

  1. Great interview! I want to read Rains’ book when it comes out. 🙂

  2. Whitney Rains on said:

    Reblogged this on A Serendipitous Happenstance and commented:
    Check out my interview on WriteNow!!! WriteNow is an amazing blog full of great advice for writers.

  3. christicorbett on said:

    Great interview! I like to write in the dark too. Since I write at night it’s like the world around me fades away and I can make the leap into my imaginary world much easier.

    Christi Corbett

  4. Thanks for all your comments, very glad you enjoyed this interview and I agree, WL Rain’s sum up of her story is definitely intriguing! 😀

  5. wordsinthestone on said:

    I’m convinced Hogwarts is real and she’s just the biggest squib ever. But Rowling is who I would pick as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

