WriteNow

For Aspiring Writers

A Writer’s Gem; A Writer’s Notebook


It’s not an essential. Nothing is exactly essential for a writer, because remember, there are no rules. However, there are things you should try, and then figure out whether they are write for you.

A writer’s notebook is where all you brilliant imagination and creativity is imprinted for the sake of your memory. Notice I say ‘brilliant imagination and creativity’ – as useless as an idea may seem to you, write it down. Your  brain may link it to a new character, a new plot, and voila, you have a premise for your next story. I find this one of the hardest things to understand, but as time goes on, it proves more true, as I hope you will realise too.

So, what actually goes in a writers notebook? Again, this is up to you, but for some ideas:

  • Make your first page count. For me, my first page is a way to come up with ideas. Click here for more details
  • Write a list of possible titles you can use – mix numbers, objects, abstract ideas, names all up together!
  • Write opening and closing lines and build from or up to them
  • Cut out pictures from the newspaper. This is indescribably useful. Try to get a wide range, because you may some people for secondary characters, like kids or grandparents. You may include a little section about a war photograph. You never know when you’ll need them. Pictures of people can help trigger characters, and looking at people will help you see differences between them and help you with description.
  • After the ideas section, I have a list of words and phrases I may like to use to help your writing sound better. The last thing I wrote down here was ‘clinks and chinks’
  • Write down the most useful tips you need to remember as you write and revise your work
  • Write down quotes to keep on going. Click here for more details.

Try to present the work creatively, or you’re less likely to pay attention to it. I’m not an artistic person, but I have to admit, the range of colours in my notebook is … delightful!

Good luck 🙂

Related Articles

# Writing Tip 1 – Keep a Notebook – (Journey of a Young Writer)

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “A Writer’s Gem; A Writer’s Notebook

  1. W.L. Brannon on said:

    i like this idea! I’ve been in a funk for a few weeks and i think this might help!

  2. I don’t use my notebook to write any official things but it’s full of drafts and snippets of things. Thanks for the advice!

    • Ah, unfortunately my hands prefer typing than writing so my notebook is scarce of any real drafts, but I also have a section on writing exercises which can be quite helpful and spark new ideas. Thanks a lot for your comment!

      ~ JLT

  3. The Young Novelist on said:

    Thank you for putting my post as a Related Article! It means a lot:)

Leave a Reply

